- News

Here’s where each area boys basketball team will start tournament runs

SOSA Staff Report

The area’s boys basketball programs learned of their first-round postseason fates Sunday afternoon as the Southeast Ohio District Athletic Board revealed tournament seeds.

Here’s a brief look at where each area team will begin its postseason run.


The area’s lone Division I team, Chillicothe (1-9) will travel to Newark on Feb. 23 for a sectional semifinal matchup. Tip is set for 7 p.m.


In the Division II, the coverage area’s highest seed is No. 2 Logan Elm (10-1), who will face off with No. 15 Miami Trace (6-6) in a sectional final at 7 p.m., Feb. 25.

Hillsboro (16-2) is a No. 3 seed and will face Gallia Academy while No. 4 Waverly (14-3) hosts Marietta. Both games will also begin at 7 p.m. on Feb. 25.

No. 9 McClain (11-5) will host New Lexington, No. 12 Fairfield Union (6-7) will travel to Sheridan, No. 7 Unioto (13-4) will host Athens and No. 6 Jackson (11-3) will host Vinton County.

All games are sectional finals and all will tip at 7 p.m., Feb. 25.

The lone sectional semifinal in Division II belongs to No. 17 Washington (2-11) and No. 16 Circleville (3-13). Those two will matchup at 7 p.m., Feb. 20.

Waverly’s Trey Robertson has helped the Tigers compile a 14-3 record this season.
CREDIT: Derrick Webb/SOSA


Wheelersburg (15-1) is a No. 2 seed in Division III and will await the winner of No. 18 Northwest (5-10) and No. 15 Zane Trace (5-10) in a sectional final at 7 p.m., Feb. 26. The Mohawks and Pioneers will face off on Feb. 22.

Meanwhile, Eastern Brown (19-1) is a No. 3 seed and will face the winner of River Valley and Alexander in a sectional final at 7 p.m., Feb. 26.

The No. 4 seed belongs to Adena (18-2). The Warriors will host Rock Hill on Feb. 22. The same night, No. 5 seeded South Point will host No. 28 Huntington (3-15) in a sectional semifinal.

Elsewhere in the division, Nelsonville-York will travel to No. 8 North Adams (10-6), Crooksville will go to No. 9 Minford (10-8), No. 21 Lynchburg-Clay (4-13) will head to Coal Grove, No. 26 Oak Hill (2-15) will pay a visit to No. 7 West (14-4) and No. 23 Southeastern (3-9) will go to Ironton.

Also in Division III, No. 6 Piketon (14-5) will host No. 27 West Union (2-12) while No. 22 Westfall (5-13) travels to Chesapeake.

All are sectional semifinals and all will begin at 7 p.m., Feb. 22.


The New Boston Tigers are the top seed in Division IV. The Tigers (17-1) will host the winner of No. 17 Eastern (3-13) and No. 16 Symmes Valley (8-10) in a sectional final at 7 p.m., Feb. 27. The Eagles and Vikings will meet on Feb. 24.

Also on Feb. 27, No. 9 Notre Dame (9-6) will travel to No. 8 South Webster (8-9) with a sectional title on the line.

No. 4 Valley (9-7) will await the winner of No. 20 Manchester (0-11) and Waterford while No. 5 Whiteoak (11-6) hosts either Eastern Meigs or No. 12 Western (5-7). Manchester and Western will both play in sectional semifinals on Feb. 24.

No. 18 Clay (4-14) will travel to No. 15 Paint Valley (7-13) on Feb. 24 in a sectional semifinal. The winner gets Trimble in a sectional final.

At the bottom of the bracket is No. 7 Peebles (6-4), who will await the winner of South Gallia and No. 23 East (0-14) in a sectional final on Feb. 27.

Meanwhile, No. 14 Green (6-9) will host Southern while Miller travels to No. 11 Fairfield (7-8). Both of those games are at 7 p.m., Feb. 24. The winner of the Fairfield-Miller matchup will travel to No. 6 Ironton St. Joe (9-4) for a sectional championship at 7 p.m., Feb. 27.

For a complete look at the Southeast District tournament brackets, click the links below.




About Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.
Read All Posts By Derrick Webb

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *