- News

Peebles, Jackson, Zane Trace, New Boston nab high seeds in district tourney draw

SOSA Staff Report

The area’s boys basketball programs learned of their first-round postseason fates Sunday afternoon as the Southeast Ohio District Athletic Board revealed tournament seeds.

Here’s a brief look at where each area team will begin its postseason run.


The coverage area’s lone team in Division I, Chillicothe (15-4) is a No. 16 seed and will begin its tournament run against either Marysville or Westerville North in a sectional final at 7 p.m., Feb. 28.


No. 2 Jackson (18-2) will take on the winner of No. 15 McClain (6-13) and No. 18 Washington (0-18) in a sectional semifinal at 6:15 p.m., Feb. 19 at Southeastern.

Unioto (17-3) is a No. 4 seed and will face No. 13 Hillsboro (8-12) at 6:15 p.m., Feb. 18 at Southeastern. Meanwhile, No. 5 Waverly (15-4) will battle with No. 12 Gallia directly after. Both are sectional semifinals.

At 8 p.m., Feb. 19 at Southeastern, No. 10 Miami Trace (12-7) faces No. 7 Logan Elm in a sectional semifinal.


The top-seeded team in Division III within SOSA’s coverage area, No. 2 Zane Trace (17-3) will face either No. 15 Piketon (9-10) or No. 18 West Union (7-12) in a sectional final at 6 p.m., Feb. 21 at Waverly’s Downtown Gym.

No. 3 Eastern Brown (19-1) will take on the winner of No. 14 Portsmouth and No. 19 Western (8-10) at 6 p.m., Feb. 22 at the same location. No. 4 Wheelersburg (17-2) battles No. 13 Meigs or No. 20 West (6-13) in a sectional final the same evening at the same location at 8:30 p.m.

No. 6 Oak Hil (16-4) will play No. 27 Northwest (4-15) at 8 p.m., Feb. 19 at Jackson High School. No. 8 North Adams (14-6) takes on No. 25 Nelsonville-York at 6:15 p.m., Feb. 18 at Waverly’s Downtown Gym.

South Point, a No. 9 seed, takes on No. 24 Southeastern (4-15) at 8 p.m., Feb. 18 at Jackson in a sectional semifinal. No. 10 Adena (12-8) battles No. 23 Lynchburg-Clay (4-15) at 8 p.m., Feb. 18 at Waverly.

Minford (10-8), a No. 12 seed, will take on No. 21 Coal Grove at 8 p.m., Feb. 19 at Waverly’s Downtown Gym.


Peebles (17-2) is the top-seeded team in Division IV and will face the winner of No. 16 Eastern (6-14) and No. 17 Clay (6-13) at 6:15 p.m., Feb. 25 at Northwest.

No. 2 New Boston (19-1) battles the winner of No. 15 Whiteoak (6-13) and No. 18 Paint Valley (5-15) at 8 p.m., Feb. 25 in a sectional final at Northwest.

Also in Division IV, No. 5 Ironton St. Joe (13-5) will face No. 12 Valley (8-11) or No. 21 Miller at 6:15 p.m., Feb. 26 in a sectional final at Northwest. No. 6 Symmes Valley (13-5) will play either No. 11 South Webster (8-11) or No. 22 Huntington (3-13) at 8 p.m., Feb. 26 at Northwest.

No. 7 Fairfield (11-7) takes on the winner of No. 10 South Gallia and No. 23 Manchester (1-18) at 6:15 p.m., Feb. 25 at Wellston. No. 9 Green (9-9) will play a familiar opponent in No. 24 East (0-18) at 8 p.m., Feb. 18 at Northwest.

Lastly, No. 19 Notre Dame (6-12) will face No. 14 Eastern Meigs at 8 p.m, Feb. 19 at Wellston.

For a complete look at the Southeast District tournament brackets, click the links below.





About Derrick Webb

Derrick is SOSA's chief content coordinator and has worked for the Chillicothe Gazette, the Portsmouth Daily Times and Eleven Warriors. He's a 13-time award-winning journalist, a self-proclaimed baseball purist, a suffering Bengals fan and has never met a stranger.
Read All Posts By Derrick Webb

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *